UN-Matching Dresser Re-do!

It’s finished! Phew, that took a while…

Remember this beauty?

It was part of a 3 piece set I picked up off kijiji, I already re-did the night stands here, as part of our master bedroom makeover. I knew I wanted to bring in the matching dresser but in a not so “look at me I’m a matchy-matchy set” kind of way. You following so far?

The dresser was in decent shape structurally, but did have some damage on top. I filled it a bit, sanded it down a bit, and then coated it with a couple of coats of ASCP old white. I was hoping it would build it up in texture and all sort of blend. while it wasn’t a smashing success, it did help a bit. Followed that up with two coats of graphite grey.

Next the drawers were painted in a mix of old white and a tiny bit of graphite, similar to the blend I used on the night stands.

Really, I just wanted it less creamy and more of a light grey.

Two coats, because I wasn’t planning to do any distressing. And then I taped off the raised trim detail.

 My plan was to do the trim in the graphite, which would look amazing right?

Totally would have too, except in LOTS of places the trim wasn’t perfectly flush to the drawer front and so I ended up with bits of the lighter color peeking out at me when I pulled off the tape. Gack.

And apparently there is no picture…sigh.

But then I grabbed a trusty paint pen in black, thinking if I could outline the graphite grey trim with a thin line of black, even better right? Ummm, no.

Not exactly what I was going for!!

I guess, even a fine tipped paint pen was too thick to get in tight enough to the trim to have the result I was hoping for. After another quick trip to Michaels and an awesomely helpful staff person I came home with the Sharpie brand OIL BASED fine tip paint pen. She swore to me that she had used them before and the paint sort of “leaks” out of the tip, and it did. Just enough to fill in all the my outlines.

So much better! It’s a little more subtle in person, but I like the extra added detail. Also, the bedding I scored (75% off, hello!) has a tiny black trim alongside the grey.

Lined all the drawers with a pretty wallpaper.

 Here it is…

I am so happy with how it turned out, especially with the small crisis mid-way though! Here’s one more picture :)

It hasn’t made its way up to the bedroom yet, even with letting the wax cure for a week I got some funny marks on it after adding props to the top for taking pictures. I am not entirely certain why, so if you have any ideas I would love to hear them! I am sort of wondering if I am using enough wax on each of my coats.

There is still some different textures on the top, and I think that I might go pick up a piece of glass to fit over the top, it will hide all my “issues” and protect the finish. Maybe something sand-blasted so it’s opaque might be kind of cool.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian peeps:) We had a wonderful weekend, my hubby always cooks our big meals and he did a great job this time too. My in-laws were out for a visit and we even had time to sneak in a trip to an amazing chocolate store downtown (Epiphanie Chocolates, well worth the trip!)

I am going to be working on some Halloween projects this week…lots of plans, so we will see how much time I can come up with!

I think it might also be time for another giveaway…this one is going to be for my subscribers! And hey, since there are only 6 of you at this point – the odds are pretty great! (for the record, not one of those fabulously-awesomely-beautiful 6 are my mother, my sisters, my hubby or my girlfriends!!)

Not going to tell you what I have up for grabs, but it will be something I have made!

There is still time to enter ;)

If you are a subscriber you will be automatically entered!

Like Scrap Me Baby  on fb and come back and tell me you did for another entry

That’s it!!

Giveaway will close next Monday and I will post the winner!

I am linking up to:

 

 

Tutorials and Tips

Chalk Paint Link Party @ Shades of Amber

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in furniture re-dos, Home Decor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to UN-Matching Dresser Re-do!

  1. Holy Cow! That’s fabulous!! I LOVE LOVE Annie Sloan’s paint….using it to refinish my kitchen cabinets….thanks for stopping by my blog….I couldn’t respond cause you’re a no-reply blogger….but I’m off to check out your blog….I like what I see so far:-)

    • Hey Michell! Thanks for coming by, unfortunately I can’t change the no reply issue – it’s a google issue. They won’t share the email info from anyone on another platform (like WordPress)…maybe one day! Love your blog and visit it regularly:)

  2. Deneen says:

    This really came out fabulous!!! Love the color contrast! Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. She’s a beauty!! Love the two-tone finish– just what I had in mind for an old dresser of ours; mine doesn’t have all the moldings so I’ll have to play with it. Thanks for all the great info! ASCP rocks!

  4. Forgot to mention: visiting from Beth’s Tutes and Tips. :)

  5. This is really cool and looks very put together! I went and liked you on FB! I linked to Shades of Amber today as well.

  6. kahli says:

    Oh wow I love it! Great job! The black trim really makes it pop

  7. this is an amazing makeover…not only is it beautiful….it is perfect…i’m the queen of the smudge, so i appreciate a master at work :) thank you for stopping by my place…particularly because it gave me a chance to come see what you are doing. you are amazing!
    best
    christy

  8. WOW, love the makeover! The black trim makes the piece look so expensive!!

  9. Vicky says:

    Wow! Such a terrific restyle! I love the combination of colors, your newest subscriber.

  10. Nikki says:

    Wow. This is beautiful!! I am loving it. Newest follower stopping by from Everything Under the Moon! Stop by and give us a visit some time :)

    ~Nikki
    http://everything-underthemoon.blogspot.com

  11. I am totally new to your blog. Found it through Apartment Therapy. I’ve missed out on why you might be using wax but I use Water based Polyurethane on all my restoration projects for my clients. It dries nearly immediately, comes in both glossy and satin (I am a satin freak) and makes a hard coating. You’d need to strip the wax off to put it on though. I’ve only ever waxed antique wood that is in its original condition. Hope this helps!! A new fan over at Apartment46blog.com.

    • Thanks Melisa, I hadn’t even realized the dresser had been featured!! Totally made my day;)
      The reason I use the wax is because I have been using Annie Sloan Chalk paint for most of the furniture pieces, and it brings a super pretty sheen to the paint after it’s been buffed. I did just do a regular table and finished it with poly, which was a new experience for me! Thanks for coming by:)

  12. Pingback: Stylish dresser update

  13. Pingback: Top 15 Before & After Furniture Re-Makes - DIY Inspiration

  14. Jackie Paulson says:

    Hey I found you from pinterest, love your redo. I have done this as well and loved the end result. I am a fan of trash to treasure…making old things new… Great blog and glad I found you…~ Jackie

  15. Pingback: Milk Paint vs. Chalk Paint | Scrap Me Baby

  16. la ma says:

    Wow I Love that. It could not have come out any better.

  17. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing
    around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to
    your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  18. I need to to thank you for this fantastic read!! I definitely loved
    every little bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

  19. SQLite pdf says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next post thanks once again.

Leave a Reply

