Lace Table Makeover

I have been sitting on this little beauty for a while now…

Same old...plain old!

Same old…plain old!

     Just your typical thrift store kids table.

After I gave it a pretty thorough sanding, I took a couple cheap white lace table runners from the dollar store like this,

$2 lace runner

$2 lace runner

and overlapped them in the middle until I liked the look of the pattern placement.

You could also trim to fit.

You could also trim to fit.

Lightly adhered them to the table with a spray adhesive, and then carried it out into my garage and sprayed through the lace with white spray paint.

When I peeled the table runners off, the lace pattern was barely visible on the pale wood. That’s ok. We’re not done yet!

Let it dry well, I think I left mine overnight. And then I gave it a generous coat of dark stain.

"Kona" stain

“Kona” stain

Even after two coats of stain, the lace was still not popping through the way I had hoped. I sort of thought I was going to have to restart, so when the stain had dried I attacked it with the sander again and wouldn’t you know? The white lace started to show up:)

Looking much better!

Looking much better!

I sanded the top until I was happy with how much of the pattern was showing through,  but I left the edges nice and dark.

I finished it up with a few coats of satin poly. Lightly sanding between each coat.

It’s all done!

Loving the two tone look!

Loving the two tone look!

I added it to a corner of our family room, it’s the perfect spot for reading, homework or a princess tea party!

tiaras and all!

tiaras and all!

Even big sister joined in:)

My two favourite girls!

My two favourite girls!

A pretty easy makeover, I had everything I needed except the lace table runners.

thanks for coming by!

Linking up with:

Home Stories A2Z

FFF

This entry was posted in Crafty-ness, diy, furniture re-dos, Home Decor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lace Table Makeover

  1. eclecticlamb says:

    So whimsical and special!

  2. Joan says:

    That is so creative!

  3. cindy says:

    Wow, this looks beautiful! Thanks for sharing !

  4. flamingotoes says:

    Eeek!! I love it!! That lace look is so pretty!!

  5. Susan says:

    That is a very interesting technique. Great job!

  6. Kathleen says:

    That is so cool! I love it, I will have to try that :)

  7. Unbelievable! I think my girls would love a tea table just like that. I’m officially on the hunt for some a nice lace pattern.

Leave a Reply

