Easy Lamp Makeovers

I have a couple of super easy lamp makeovers to share with you today. You could  knock one of these out in an afternoon, which is fantastic if you are working around a nap schedule like I am.

This one you might remember seeing when I showed you the first part of our family room makeover.

"before"

“before”

I found the base at a local thrift shop, if I remember correctly I picked it up for $8. I spray primed, then painted with white gloss spray paint. The shade is available at Wal-Mart, it’s a plain white drum. I measured the circumference of the shade and cut my fabric strips to twice that length. (technically I ripped them, it’s faster!)

Orange & white ruffles

Orange & white ruffles

A simple basting stitch down the center of each fabric strip, then pull the end of one of your threads working the fabric backwards to make your ruffles.  I attached each ruffle with a dab of hot glue every few inches. (you can see the glue if you are looking into the shade, but not through the fabric with the light on or off) I think it’s a pretty fast & easy way to add some personality to your space!

"After"

“After”

Next up is a matched pair of lamps I did to flank our sofa in the front living room.living room lampsOk, this is where I apologize for the awkwardly lit photos coming up! This is a tough room to shoot, and I didn’t quite figure it out;)

Since we are blessed to have a family room, this space doesn’t have a lot of toys/kid stuff. It’s more of a snuggle in front of the fireplace with a cozy blanket and a good book kind of room! It’s one of my favorite rooms in the house, although it is still a work in progress!

I had two lamp bases, originally a gold-ish black finish (and not in a good way!) that I paint with some leftover ASCP that I had mixed for the buffet in the kitchen. I didn’t bother to wax them since they won’t be handled much (I can tell you it has been a month now, and they are still holding up just fine).

French graffiti lamp

French graffiti lamp

To make the shades I found a bunch of French ephemera and printed it out. If you tape your printouts inside and turn the lamp on it makes its own light box. I used a fine tipped sharpie pen (not a paint pen) and simply copied it directly onto the shade.

It is a bit time-consuming and you will need a fairly steady hand but again, maybe  took about 2 hours. I did two, because I am a sucker for symmetry!living room

My front window is great, we get a ton of natural light and a beautiful view of the mountains, but the little angled wall on either side makes it difficult to find tables that work in the space.Lyndsay's table

This one came home with me on our last trip to Saskatchewan. I noticed it languishing in the corner of a spare room in the basement of a friend’s house, and when I  asked about it she very sweetly offered it me (score!!) and it fits the right side perfectly.kijiji table

I tried a few other options to balance out the left hand side but nothing was working. I finally spotted this little guy on kijiji, and it fits perfectly. I love that they are both drop leafs, but have different bases. And once they both get a fresh coat of Miss Mustard Seed’s typewriter black they will balance each other out perfectly.

There you go! Some easy DIY lamp makeovers that anyone can do, I think they add a lot to the space, and for an average of $20 each you can’t go wrong!

thanks for coming by!

Linking up with:

FFF

 

Home Stories A2Z
This entry was posted in Crafty-ness, diy, Home Decor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Easy Lamp Makeovers

  1. navywifeypeters says:

    I love the orange and white lampshade!!

    T’onna @ Submarine Sunday Link Party
    http://navywifeypeters.blogspot.com/2013/01/submarine-sunday-15.html

  2. fiammisday says:

    Lovely…..I’m following your blog NOW!!!! A big kiss!!!

  3. Thank you! I’m coming by to visit your blog:)

  4. Must Have Boxes says:

    Such creative ideas! I love it.

    - KW
    musthaveboxes.com

  5. seo katalog says:

    I just added this web site to my google reader, excellent stuff. Cannot get enough!

  6. Thistle says:

    What a fun project! Do you think I could use a paint pen on the lampshade with the graphics? Thanks so much for inspiring me today!

    blessings,
    karianne

    • Hi Karianne, I would be a little nervous using the paint pen in case it bled? But, depending on your lampshade it could be fine. Mine have a bit of a weaves texture to them, so I would “guess” that mine would have been a nightmare!

  7. J’ai trouvé votre post par hasard et je ne le
    regrette pas du tout !

Leave a Reply

