Making Lists…

Hello, my name is Nicole and I like to make lists…to-do-list-pad

I know I am not  alone in this, and you better believe I add stuff that may or may not be mostly done just so I can happily cross something off a list;)

Can I share a list with you today?

I didn’t make any New Year resolutions, I never keep them anyway!

I did make a plan to work on my own home, my own projects and my own scrapbooks more…seriously, when your almost 5-year-old is in tears wondering why she doesn’t have a baby album yet – gulp.

In January I made a list.

It’s a big list.

And yes, I realize it’s closer to the end of February. Did I mention the procrastination?

I’m hoping that by posting my list, it will help shame motivate me into actually getting stuff done!

I should also say, if you are my husband – look away, look away now!

House Stuff

(clearly I like obvious titles, sigh.)

Remove & replace all weirdly rounded corner trim pieces

Caulk baseboards, fill nail holes, fix corners & repaint

Repaint living room/foyer

Make new backpack hook area for the girls

Replace the pantry door, paint pantry

Pick paint & fabric to redo new kitchen chairs

Paint family room

Finish the gallery wall in the family room

(Seriously Jonah, stop reading.)

Paint upstairs hallway & staircase

Main floor bathroom: remove builder mirror, refinish & hang new mirror, replace or refinish light fixture, replace faucet

Finish redoing the antique desk

Paint my antique sewing table

Paint Meghan’s dresser drawers

Finish Chelsea’s bedroom décor stuff

Paint the master bedroom closet

Figure out the front door/garden/curb appeal issues

Stain the back deck/railings/privacy screen

It looks like a long list right? I probably forgot stuff. And I’ll keep adding to it I’m sure. It’s kind of what I do…and if my hubby made it this far, he’s now in the bathroom throwing up. Or possibly banging his head against his desk.

Here’s the thing. I made the list in January. About 6 weeks ago, and we have been busy!

Want to see how my list looks now?

House Stuff

Remove & replace all weirdly rounded corner trim pieceshaven’t done this, but I did learn how to use a chop saw. It’s kind of like starting.  rockin the chop saw Please remember your safety glasses! Also, my fingers are not as close as they look to the blade… 

Caulk baseboards, fill nail holes, fix corners & repaint – laundry room, bathroom & kitchen done, living room still needs to be finished.

Repaint living room/foyer done! You can see it at the end of this post  here,

Make new backpack hook area for the girls -I think I found the hooks I want on etsy. But I think I could DIY them too…backpack hooks

Replace the pantry door, paint pantry – painted the first color on the new door today!

Pick paint & fabric to redo new kitchen chairs – I have a serious contender for fabric,Dover Linen

Paint family room - done! My hubby rocks:)family room after

Finish the gallery wall in the family room – ordered a print for one of the empty frames today!

Paint upstairs hallway & staircase – not even close! I do have a vague idea of the paint color, anyone have a 25 foot ladder kicking around?

Main floor bathroom: remove builder mirror - done!, refinish & hang new mirror – done!, replace or refinish light fixture, replace faucet – ??new mirror redo

Finish redoing the antique desk - My hubby really wishes this was done. It’s a big desk, and its fabulous, and it takes up half his garage;)

Paint my antique sewing table - I have the paint!

Paint Meghan’s dresser drawers – I have the paint, but Meg really wants to do this one herself

Finish Chelsea’s bedroom décor stuff – hung a new print we picked together, working on a jewelry hanger, still on the hunt for a new chandelier, want to DIY a new lamp

Paint the master bedroom closet – have the paint left from the bathroom, will admit that tackling the closet scares me!

Figure out the front door/garden/curb appeal issues - so excited about this one! One of my fave blogs had an “ask the designer” series and my question got picked…waiting to see what she recommends! (I can make this blue right? it’s kind of like progress)

Stain the back deck/railings/privacy screen - need less snow!

There you have it!

 Thankfully my husband is amazing and he does the majority of the painting in this house. He’s better, and much, much, much faster. Although I think his painting days are done for a while now;) which means I need to focus on some of the other areas till he forgets how much work he’s already done has the urge to paint again!

This weekend I had my nieces over to scrapbook, they were really creative and put a ton of effort into the little details. family scrapbookIs that not the sweetest?

Have a great day!

thanks for coming by!

This entry was posted in diy, Home Decor, Random stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making Lists…

  1. xo Dee says:

    What a great idea! Making a list would be much more satisfying then the resolution since you can track your progress. I think I may give it a try, even if I am a couple months late!

  2. Never late! I heard that march is the new January;)

  3. Wow what an ambitious list! I admire your determination! I’m sure you will get it all done :0)

  4. That’s a lofty list of projects! Love your family room paint color. Wish my hubby painted, but he’s more of a builder-type (not complaining!). Can’t wait to see more completed projects- good luck!

    • Thanks! I know it’s a pretty long list…and we just added “paint the kitchen” too! And hey, if you ever run out of builder-y things for your hubs to do and want to lend him out…

  5. Jill says:

    Hi Nicole, It’s Jill (used to work with Tara) I’m not sure if you remember me or not! I was just wondering if you could let me know who made your business cards! I am in the market for some :)

    Thanks,
    Jill

Leave a Reply

