Paper Bag Wreath

Today I thought I would share with you a wreath I made a couple of months ago because I finally found a home for it!

 

I love this wreath so much! I kind of think it looks like dried Hydrangea, what do you think? But then…once it was finished I realized my plan for a  fall door hanger wasn’t very practical, given that it was made out of paper and living in Calgary we have a rather crazy unpredictable weather situation! So, down to my office it went 😦

Then when the Valentine’s Day mantle was, um, dis-mantled (yes, I went there) and I was trying to decide what was going up next, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it! I found the mirror at Homesense, and did a two-layer vinyl monogram for our last name (although my 6-year-old is convinced it’s really for MEGHAN!) My initial plan was to adhere the wreath directly onto the mirror without ribbon or anything else visible, but it didn’t work out as planned, and I think I am ok with that!

So, while spring might be a REALLY long ways away still, at least here in Alberta – my mantle is heading in a decidedly spring direction! Still needs more “stuff” but I am pretty happy to have found a home for the wreath (and the “bird-cage” that my 2-year-old saw and insisted we had to have, let’s just hope she realizes no real bird will EVER be living in that thing!!)

And finally, one more picture – just because I had 3 that weren’t blurry!

 

 

You can find lots of other examples and tutorials of the brown paper bag wreath on you tube, but basically you will need a wreath form, scallop punch (mine was Stampin Up!), hot glue gun with LOTS of extra glue sticks, and more patience than Job. Seriously, I think by the end I had punched over 1600 scallops (but, I have seen the wreath done with way less, and put onto the form way looser, it’s a different look but still very pretty!)

That is it for now, have a great day!

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Home Decor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Paper Bag Wreath

  1. domenica says:

    Looks fab and your pics turned out nice too, way to go! BRING ON SPRING!! 🙂

  2. Janet says:

    I love your paper bag wreath! I have everything I need to make one and even a mirror to hang it on. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

