Roller Coaster anyone?

Well, it has really been a week! I kinda feel like I climbed onto a roller coaster without even knowing, there were some really great highs and some really awful lows. One of the highlights of my week was having my vintage piano bench redo  featured over at Home Stories A2Z as a tip/tutorial not to miss! It was my very first time being featured, and since I love Beth and think her blog is amazing it was quite the honor. I may or may not have squealed out loud.

I also ordered this adorable-ness from Flamingo Toes, and I think that definitely counts as a high. Or maybe a bit of retail therapy to recover from a low. Either way, it is on it’s way to me and I can’t wait to wear it!

I needed a project to distract myself…I had picked up some really cute paper and it was just begging to be made into a sweet summer banner. An hour in my pretty new office and I had this!

The paper is “100 days of summer” if you are interested, misc bazzill cardstock, lots of ribbon and a bit of iRock bling. My mantle has cup hooks screwed in from the bottom and honestly, until I hung this banner I had NO IDEA they weren’t actually spaced evenly. I am a bit embarassed to say that we have hung our stockings here for the past 5 Christmases and I never even noticed. How is that possible? Eeks.

Anyhoo, I will get over it. Or, possibly pull them out, putty the holes, sand, repaint and re-hang them properly. Could happen.

The banner is a bit more subdued than what I had initially envisioned, but I quite like the end result. I pulled in some lemon yellow candles from another room, and added the pink rose topiaries I made earlier this year.

It’s not finished, and I am not in love with the summer printable, I think I will hold out and see what Janet over at Today’s Fabulous Finds comes up with. Her printables are amazing (and free)! And she does them in several different colors so you can always find one that works. Chances are that will help finish everything off.

I have been busy working on a project for my daughter’s room. The chair was a kijiji find, and it started out like this…

Actually, this picture is more than a bit flattering. Let’s just say there were some “issues” that needed to be dealt with. And they weren’t pretty. I hope to have it done within the next week or so!

Hope your week was better than mine!

Linking up with:

Creative Bloggers Party & Hop @ Homemaker on a Dime

Think Pink Sundays @ Flamingo Toes

Creative Creations Tuesdays @ Nothing But Country

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Home Decor, mantle vignettes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

