It’s a Tea Party…

I am so excited to be able to share this with you! I got the photos back last night from the photographer, and let me just tell you – they are gorgeous. Far better than anything I could have taken, she is seriously talented. Luuuuv you Domenica!!

Anyway, there are so many fab photos, that I am going to split this into a couple separate posts, and it’s going to be photo heavy. You don’t mind do you? Didn’t think so!

The occasion?

My oldest daughter Meghan’s 7th birthday party.

 We decided that SEVEN is definitely old enough to enjoy a real honest to goodness fancy tea party.

This post will cover some of the DIY projects, decor and party set up.

Let’s set the stage…

This was the invite we sent out, it was a tea-cup (of course!) and invited the girls to come dressed in their “fancy” clothing.

I made a simple wreath for the front door to “welcome” all our guests to the special day. I used a wreath form from Michaels, wrapped in ribbon to coordinate with our party colors, and hung a paper banner inside. I used scrapbook paper and ribbon, along with paper flowers, and sewing pins with colored heads. Nothing on the wreath is permanent, which means I can easily change it out to use it again for another party or season! Instead of using glue to attach the ribbon, I used push pins along the back to keep it secure and tight.

  A couple of months before the party, we started collecting pretty tea pots, this one was one of Meghan’s favourites.

We also started to look for china cups and saucers, we needed enough for each party guest as well as some extras for the serving dishes I planned to make. We also wanted each cup and saucer to be different.

I made some tiered serving trays out of the extra cups and saucers, and purposely mismatched most of them for an eclectic but pretty look. To keep each piece looking dainty, I used unfinished wooden mini candlesticks (Michaels) that I sprayed white in between each layer. We made tissue paper poms to fill the top cups, but I think flowers, or even candy would have been just as sweet.

I used Weldbond, since it is made specifically for non porous items, and it held up fine during the party. (* I have since packed away all of the leftover pieces, planning in advance for a second tea party for my youngest, and even though I was super careful, not all of the layers survived. They actually snapped apart pretty easily, which makes for easier storage and will be a pretty simple fix when the time comes for them to make an encore appearance*)

We decided to have the party outside, it was going to be a beautiful (hot!) sunny day. I had one long table set up, with the birthday girl at the head. We have a white lattice privacy screen on our deck, so we dressed that up with some teal spray painted frames, some more tissue paper poms and I think it added just the right amount of color to the background.

The rest of the table came together with a pretty floral table runner, brightly colored plates and napkins, teal candles, and pink carnations in crystal bud vases.  

On top of a paper doily we set out each guest’s cup and saucer set, along with a butterfly name card.

You will have to come back tomorrow to see the pretty party guests, the fun craft we did with them, along with all the food and the girls’ goody bags!

Here’s a sneak peek…

Happy Birthday Meghan!!

Click here to see Part two of this post!

Linking up with:

Fabulous Friday @ Faith, Love and a little Pixie Dust

Look at Me @ Fun to Craft

 Show and Tell Saturdays @ Be Different Act Normal

 Think Pink Sundays @ Flamingo Toes

Turquoise Lovin @ Sweet little gals

Time to Shine @ A Diamond in the Stuff

 

This entry was posted in Birthday Parties, Scrapbooks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s a Tea Party…

  1. Joanne Hewlett says:

    Awesome, beautiful and so sweet, I’m sure the memories will last forever!

  2. Pingback: Let them eat (cup)cakes… | Scrap Me Baby

  3. Sara says:

    Would LOVE it if you would share this post at my turquoise lovin’ party going on right now!! I just LOVE these pics! SO gorgeous! http://www.sweetlittlegals.com/2011/09/turquoise-lovin-3.html#comments

  4. Martina says:

    ohhhhhhhhhhhh my!!! i want a tea party for my birthday!! such a great idea:)

  5. Jamie says:

    what a fun party!! and that shade of aqua/turquoise blue is beautiful!!! and wonderful photos!

  6. Hi Nicole, It’s my pleasure to feature your tea party on my blog today. Please feel free to take a button if you wish.

    Warmly, Michelle

  7. Terri says:

    Wondering where you purchased your plates napkins and table runner 🙂

    • Hi! The table runner I made from fabric I picked up at fabric land.
      The paper plates & matching napkins were just from a dollar store, but it was a few years ago!

Leave a Reply

