Hello Autumn!!

This is my very favourite time of year; I adore (almost) everything about fall.

 The fabulous colors of the changing leaves amaze me every year.

The slightly cooler temperatures, perfect for curling up with a cozy blanket in a big comfy chair and a good book (or 10) in front of the fireplace.

Most likely with one of these…

Let’s not forget about Thanksgiving, since ours is in early October, so for me, the Halloween decorations have to wait(Meg and I have decided to do a “glamorous” Halloween this year, and we have some super cute stuff – you’ll just have to wait)

 I did a bit of fall decorating and I am pretty pleased with how it all came together. I wanted to have a new wreath, and I am obsessed with the shape of pinecones.

I think they are beautiful.

We have an abundance of these near our home, and Chels was happy to collect a whole whack of them for me. After washing, yes, washing! (did you know when pinecones get wet they close?) I let them dry for a few days to get them back to their original shapes.

I used a 2″ wide plain wood frame, because I wanted to have a square wreath instead of the traditional round shape. I sprayed it dark brown on the front and sides.

Then I randomly glued the pinecones onto the frame in different directions, overlapping and stacking as I went until it was fairly nice and full. I did experiment with using two different kinds of pinecones, but I didn’t like the look of them mixed. I find enough different color, texture and variations in these ones for my liking.

I left it plain, it’s really simple but I’m pleased with it.

I ordered this pretty burlap table runner for the kitchen table. Love the ruffles.

You can find this (and tons of other burlap-y goodness – I have my eye on the stockings) here. After I ordered it, I made this  simple burlap banner for the fireplace and let me just say – this stuff is not so easy to work with. Pretty darn happy I ordered the runner!

Here’s the rest of the mantel all ready for fall!

I am not finished with the dollar store pumpkins in all their speckled orange plastic glory, and my first thought was to hit them with krylon’s new glitter blast spray paint, in that fab orange copper color. But, I can’t find it anywhere in Calgary!! So…onto plan B (when I think of plan B)

Meghan made this frame for me! She painted and distressed it herself, and I think she did a great job 🙂

Looking forward to a busy weekend, lots of projects to finish up! I am going to pretend I haven’t heard the word “snow” thrown around with regards to Sunday’s forecast…lovely. 

Thanks for coming by!

Nicole 

Linking here:

The Lettered Cottage

 

 

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Home Decor, mantle vignettes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello Autumn!!

  1. I love your fall mantel, it is beautiful. The colors are so rich and inviting. Well done.

  2. Shannon says:

    Hello,
    Returning your lovely message. Came over for a peek. Jealous 😉 What wonderful fall decor. I adore your mantle!! I love the clean lines, but when I attempt it, it somehow doesn’t look right. Oh well, whatcha’ gonna do? I’ll drool over everyone elses. hehe. I will be following you now. Looked at the nightstands too. So cute. The room is really coming along =)
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

