Vintage Magazine Table

A little late in posting again…seems to be a theme around here!

I found this cute little table on kijiji, and there was  something about the lines I really loved. Especially the side “pockets” for magazines, little did I know what a pain in the butt they would be to paint! I wanted a distressed look, so I didn’t worry too much about trying to be perfect inside. Two coats of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Old White (can you believe I still have some left??) followed by some light distressing and two coats of clear wax later – This piece is staying with us, and looks pretty sweet in our front living room next to the blue “reading” chair! It’s turned out to be a favourite spot for all of us, but especially Meghan when she is doing her home reading! There is just something extra comfortable about a deep cushy chair next to a fireplace that makes you want to stay a while.

 This week I have started to pull out the Christmas decorations, I love this time of year! (minus the winter driving and shovelling of snow)My girls are both very interested in being helpers, and we are going to be adding a lot of homemade ornaments and some vintage touches to our tree and decor this year. Here’s a sneak peek…

 This chippy old frame (LOVE)  was one that I picked up here and  paitently pulled out all the rusty bits of wire screen it came with, cleaned it up just a bit and have some vague intention of using it to display Christmas cards on. How? Not really sure, maybe with twine and clothespins? I thought about adding chicken wire, but it’s not really my style. I do love the pop of red in the room, and if the hubby doesn’t argue too strenuously I may leave it up year round! (minus the Christmas cards;)

Thanks for coming by!

Linking to:

This entry was posted in Christmas, furniture re-dos, Home Decor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vintage Magazine Table

  1. Nice job on the little table! That red frame really makes it all pop, I hope you can leave it up. You give me inspiration and motivation! Thanks – Kris

  2. Pingback: It may be time to say buh-bye… and a furniture mystery. | Scrap Me Baby

Leave a Reply

