Valentine Sign

I have a fun Valentine’s project to share with you today!

I started out with one idea and ended up going in a completely different direction. I had initially decided to make a sign using 1 Corinthians 13:4, snagged the perfect size piece of mdf from the scraps bin at my home depot (free, yay!) and painted it ASCP Emperor’s silk (red). Then I started to think about how many words were in the bible verses I had chosen, and got a little lazy intimidated. There was probably no way I was going to have the patience required to get them all looking perfectly straight and lined up nicely. Let’s be honest, patience is not a strong suit of mine.

Plan B, I enlisted the help of these little cuties…who were more than happy to have their hands rolled with white acrylic paint!

I used my not-very-secret trick and used cricut vinyl to make my own stencils, and painted on my quote.Gave the whole thing a night to dry, then came back and waxed and buffed it to a nice sheen. I wasn’t distressing it at all, so I didn’t have to worry about the bleeding issue that I ran into with this sign. (phew)

I used a wood heart that I picked up at Michael’s for $1, and painted it lightly with chocolate-brown craft paint. Papered the top, using mod podge (of course!) and lightly sanded the edges so it didn’t look perfect.

I added a couple of white ribbon rosettes on top and called it a day.Attached the heart to the sign with hot glue, and ta-da!I am completely in love with it! And, have decided it’s not just a valentine sign – it will be hung up in my office afterwards.

I also think this would make a fab gift! Maybe for Father’s Day, or for grandparents too.

For now, it has a place of honor on the mantle.(ignore the door in the reflection, I haven’t figured out a good way to shoot this corner mantle.)

We don’t do a ton of decorating for V-day, but I do add a few things like this chalkboard sign made from a vintage silver trayThe cute printable I found last yearand a couple of things on the kitchen table.Don’t you think that cute pink pitcher is crying out for some flowers? (hint, hint, to my favourite handsome hubby!)

That’s the extent of our valentine decor, but I will make a “pink” breakfast for the girls, and my fab hubby always cooks something super delish for dinner. 

I have been on a roll lately, a project finishing machine! So hopefully I will have more for you to see later this week.

I will be linking up with:

Home Stories A2Z

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Home Decor, mantle vignettes, Scrapbooks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Valentine Sign

  1. Donna Bowes says:

    Thanks for becoming my newest follower!!! Add you to my feed. That sign is adorable!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Nicole,
    oh gluten free for a month, just like that? no way to ease into it? Now that would be hard. But the coconut bars are definitely worth trying. They are yummy. And here’s a link to grain free chocolate chip cookies that are pretty tasty too! http://deliciouslyorganic.net/grain-free-chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe-grain-free-challenge/

  3. I love the handprints and “These hold my heart forever”!! My mama will go gaga over this from my kids! Thanks for your kind words at my blog!!!
    New Follower!
    ~Jen @ hutchinsonherd.blogspot.com

  4. Pingback: 10 adorable DIY Valentine's Day cards to make with your kids

  5. Pingback: 25 Valentine Signs - The Princess & Her Cowboys

  6. Pingback: Valentine’s Gifts for Teachers and Grandparents | Mama Momtourage

  7. Pingback: Low Boredom | 10 ADORABLE DIY VALENTINE’S DAY CARDS TO MAKE WITH YOUR KIDS - Low Boredom

  8. Pingback: Top 10 Valentine Keepsake Gifts - Rhythms of Play

  9. Pingback: 25+ of the BEST Valentine's Day Craft Ideas! - Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons

  10. Pingback: Infanttech

  11. Pingback: Valentines Day Craft Ideas

Leave a Reply

