Custom Tile Coasters

I finished another project this week, see – I told you I was a project finishing machine lately! Amazing what you can get accomplished with just a little more free time.Using tumbled tiles from Home Depot, my current fave line of scrapbook paper, mod podge, felt and sealant I created a custom set of coasters for our living room.Actually, I made 2 sets, using two different types of tile just to see how they hold up. One set has gone off to live with a sweet friend who has agreed to be my guinea pig!I want to make sure the sealant I used (6 coats) will hold up to a good amount of use, and that the felt backing is strong enough.As soon as I know I have the correct combination of materials then I have plans for another set for the upstairs family room. I will happily rid our house of the cardboard-bendy-paper-edge-splitty coasters we currently own!Actually, I have a whole plan for that upstairs family room…it’s the last room to be painted in our house and I cannot wait to be rid of the last bit of the awful peachy-beige flesh tone paint!

**On a completely unrelated note**

One of my very favourite blogs is Flamingo Toes, and every week she has a recap of her week and she shares some of the google searches that people use to somehow end up at her blog. A lot of really random weird stuff, and funny too.

Most of my searches are kind of basic “white frames” , and “gallery scrapbook wall” type of thing. But this week I got:

what is the white wooden block with holes in it called in the unfinished wood section?

Actually kind of made my day! Wish I had the answer, and now I feel the urge to cruise an unfinished wood section just to see if I can see what the heck they were talking about!

Linking up with:

Show & Tell Saturday @ Be Different, Act Normal 

 

Tips & Tutes Tuesday @ Home Stories A to Z 

 

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Home Decor, Scrapbooks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Custom Tile Coasters

  1. laurelsusanstudio says:

    Love your coasters! Would also love to see this project combined with the handprints from your Valentine project below… would need larger tiles…but would make a wonderful keepsake.

  2. Elisa says:

    These are adorable – I have been meaning to try this exact idea – you are probably very smart to use 6 coats lol. I am impressed with how smooth they came out considering your tile is not! Thanks for inspiring me!

    • Thanks! I did make sure that I used the smoother of the two sides, and it was a bit bumpy at first. A brayer and a lot of mod podge helped even it out. So far they are holding up well!

  3. Kristina says:

    Very beautifully designed and eye-catching–great job!

  4. Heidi says:

    What type of sealant did you use?

    • Hi Heidi! I used 6 coats of matte mod podge (love that stuff!) and I can tell you that they have been put through the wringer here and are holding up just fine. Super easy project, and a great way to really personalize your rooms. Thanks for coming by;)

  5. Pingback: just for fun! | Scrap Me Baby

  6. Sue says:

    Forgive my ignorance…but you said you used Mod Podge and matte mod podge sealer. Those are two different things? I just love this idea and want to make sure I get the right stuff! Thanks! p.s. found you through a Pinterest post 🙂

  7. Heather says:

    If I may, which line of scrapbook paper is this? It’s so charming!!!

Leave a Reply

